Our team

VAO is governed by a Board of Directors who are nominated from our membership. VAO Directors meet every six weeks as a full Board and are also involved in various VAO subgroups from time to time.

Current Directors of the Board are:

Sheila Garson (Chair) Elaine Grieve (Vice Chair)  
Malcolm Graves Ian Carse  
Bashir Hasham Linda Lennie  
Jan Judge    

Our experienced team of staff have wide knowledge of the third sector in Orkney and can help with a wide range of enquirie                  


Gail Anderson

Chief Executive

gail new  
Gary Amos Project Worker
Rosalind Aitken Operations & Development Manager

Malcolm Scott

Community Development Worker
Rob McGregor Volunteer Development Worker
Brian Cromarty Youth Development Worker
Kirsty Rochford Youth Development Worker
Office and Admin
Ingrid Berry Senior Office Administrator
Leona Norquay Office Administrator
Cecily Cromby Office Administrator (Counselling Centre)

Lynn Craven Cleaner
Anne Stacey Finance Administrator
Davie Campbell Finance Worker
Hannah Rendall Young People’s Befriending Co-ordinator
Katherine Rendall  Young People’s Befriending Co-ordinator
Alison Guthrie Adult Befriending Co-ordinator
Kasia Gorzkowska Adult Befriending Development Worker
Lynn Taylor Adult Befriending Development Worker
Susan Wishart Adult Befriending Development Worker
Karen Mack Connect Project Co-ordinator
Helen Doyle  Connect Support Worker
Craig Nesbit Connect Support Worker
Caroline Evans Connect Outreach Work 
Rosalind Aitken      Project Manager- Enhancing Well-being in our Island Communities
Rosie Alexander Community Led Care Research Officer

Our work is enhanced by our dedicated volunteers who are fully trained for a variety of placements including volunteer receptionists and befriending volunteers.